Automations are an important part of any sales team's workflow, but it's vital to maintain control over which automations you have created and running. With our authentication and security feature, you'll now be able to manage who is able to launch an automation, giving you tight control over how your workflows are automated.
How this works
A Partner Center user's ability to turn automations on or off depends on their security permissions.
The user who first turns on an automation is given permission for that automation.
Similarly, a Partner Center admin can transfer permission of another user's automation to themselves within Partner Center. If this happens, the user who transferred permission becomes the new owner, and the automation will run on their behalf.
If a Partner Center user lacks permission, they will not be allowed to turn on or transfer permissions of an automation. If they lack permission, it'll be displayed when the user attempts to transfer permissions, turn an automation on or off, or directly within the workflow itself.
If the user does have the appropriate permissions, they will be prompted to give consent to the automation to complete action on their behalf. This modal will appear whenever they turn on an automation or transfer running permissions to themselves.
NOTE: If a user already has an automation running, they will not get this prompt unless they turn it off and back on. This prompt will show up every time an automation is turned on.
Once the automation is turned on and the automation is triggered, it will run as intended as long as that user continues to maintain access to those actions. This ensures that Partner Center users will not be able to use automations as a shortcut to completing actions they don't have the permission to do.
NOTE: With any active automation, if the authenticated user loses their permissions for any of the actions within the automation, this will cause it to stop running. Partner Center admins will receive a notification when this happens to alert them of the error and bring them directly to the automation in question. Once the permissions have been fixed, the automation can be restarted.
Within the My Teams page, by viewing another user's page will show which automations they currently have running on their behalf. Permissions can also be transferred to the user viewing this page if needed.