Automations: Draining

Automation draining allows you to stop an automation that is running but lets the existing runs finish rather than halting their progress. No new automation runs are started once the automation is stopped. This is an optional feature that ensures automation runs don’t stop at any given action in an automation, but rather can fully complete that automation run.

How does it work?

Go to Partner Center > Automations. Choose the automation you would like to stop and allow to drain before it completely stops. Click the kebab icon > Turn off the automation.

image-20220325-135020.png

As an alternative, you can also click into the automation and stop it from there. By toggling from ‘On’ to ‘Off’ a model will appear, as shown below.

image-20220325-142918.png

With either of these workflows, a modal will appear that allows you to choose whether you’d like to stop all automation runs that are currently in progress or allow for the automation runs to drain (AKA, allow for the existing automation runs in progress to reach completion without starting any new runs).

image-20220325-135302.png

Once you’ve selected turn off as seen in the image above, existing runs on that automation will go to completion and no new runs will begin.

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Share