If Salespeople no longer wish to pursue an account, they can archive that account.
This is done by clicking on the Account Name in Sales & Success Center, then on the Actions button in the top right of the displayed page, select Archive Account. Type a reason for choosing to archive and click on Archive.
Note: Archived accounts are hidden from the Salesperson's view, but are accessible via the filters in Sales & Success Center, as well as the Accounts tab of Partner Center.
Archiving the accounts in Sales & Success Center wouldn't archive the accounts from the Partner center (Admin view).