We've simplified how you manage your clients, and how your clients experience the platform.
Historically, there were two separate records for your clients, which you could manage from two different places:
- Users were for your clients to access Business Center and receive emails. Managed via Partner Center.
- Recipients were for your clients to only receive emails. Managed via Business Center.
With this update, there is now a single record—referred to as a user—with two different permissions. By default, all users receive email notifications and campaigns, but you can also choose whether a user can access Business Center.
This customizability allows you to create a user that receives emails but doesn’t have access to Business Center (formerly called a recipient).
Important: This update did not change your clients' permissions.
What has changed?
- All of your recipients automatically became users, with permissions based on the following criteria:
- If the recipient’s email address matched that of an existing user, the two records were merged.
- If the recipient’s email address did not match that of an existing user, a new user was created. This user only got access to the Notification Settings section in Business Center. They did not receive a welcome email.
- All of your users will be able to receive email notifications and campaigns (respecting those that have previously opted out).
- When a user is edited, these updates will transpire through all accounts they're associated with.
- You will still manage all of your users via Partner Center > Businesses > Users.
- When a client creates a user (formerly a recipient) via the Notification Settings section in Business Center, that user will only get access to the Notification Settings section. They will not receive a welcome email. They will then show up in the list of users in Partner Center.
- When you delete a user, all of their permissions will be revoked (i.e. accessing Business Center and receiving notification emails).